The Piedmont Environmental Council (PEC) launched Virginia's first Buy Fresh Buy Local campaign in 2006 with the goal of supporting local farmers, productive agricultural lands and rural economies by helping consumers easily find and purchase locally produced foods.  Today you can find 9 Buy Fresh Buy Local chapters throughout the state of Virginia.

Charlottesville Area Chapter

Provided by The Piedmont Environmental Council, the Charlottesville area chapter includes the City of Charlottesville, Albemarle, Greene, Louisa, Fluvanna, and Nelson Counties.

Fredericksburg Area Chapter

The Fredericksburg Area chapter covers Stafford, Spotsylvania, Caroline, King George counties, and Westmoreland as well as the City of Fredericksburg.

Hampton Roads Area Chapter

Provided by Buy Fresh Buy Local Hampton Roads, this chapter includes the Cities of Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk, the counties of Isle of Wight and Surry, and the Eastern Shore of Virginia.

Heart of Virginia Chapter

An initiative of the Old Dominion RC&D Council, the Heart of Virginia chapter includes Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Charlotte, Cumberland, Halifax, Luneburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, and Prince Edward counties.

Loudoun County Chapter

Provided by The Piedmont Environmental Council (PEC), this chapter covers all of Loudoun County.

Northern Piedmont Chapter

Provided by The Piedmont Environmental Council, the Northern Piedmont chapter covers Madison, Orange, Culpeper, Rappahannock, and Fauquier Counties.

Northern Virginia Chapter

Sponsored by Inova Health System, the Northern Virginia Chapter includes the City of Fairfax, City of Alexandria, and Arlington and Fairfax Counties.

Shenandoah Valley Chapter

Cities of Buena Vista, Harrisonburg, Lexington, Staunton, Waynesboro, and Winchester, as well as Allegheny, Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, Highland, Page, Rockbridge, Rockingham, and Shenandoah, Clarke, Frederick, and Warren Counties.

South Centre Corridors Chapter

The South Centre Corridors Chapter covers Charles City, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, Greensville, Prince George, Southampton, Surry, and Sussex counties as well as the cities of Emporia, Hopewell and Petersburg.

Become a Supporter